Jane Prentice MP, Federal Member for Ryan - Coat of Arms
Federal Member for Ryan
Assistant Minister for Social Services and Disability Services
JANE PRENTICE MP, Federal Member for Ryan

About Ryan 

Ryan lies in Brisbane's western suburbs on the northern side of the Brisbane River generally west of the Brisbane CBD. Ryan runs up the river from Auchenflower through Toowong, Indooroopilly, Fig Tree Pocket, Kenmore, Brookfield and Moggill to Karana Downs, and also extends north to include Mt Coot-tha, Ashgrove, The Gap, Ferny Grove and Keperra. The electorate takes in extensive areas of national park and forest in the hills to the west of Brisbane. Ryan is home to the University of Queensland, Enoggera Barracks, Mt Coot-tha botanical gardens and Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary.

The electorate of Ryan was created in 1949 and named after T.J.Ryan, Premier of Queensland from 1915 to 1919. Mr Ryan was elected to the House of Representatives as member for West Sydney in 1919. Mr Ryan contracted pneumonia and died after only a year in Federal Parliament. Ryan had only 2 members in the 52 years from 1949 to 2001, and was held by former Fraser and Howard government minister John Moore from 1975 until 2001. Jane Prentice has represented Ryan since August 2010 after wining the seat for the Liberal National Party at that election.

Description: Outer metropolitan.

Location: Western Brisbane; it includes the suburbs of Bellbowrie, Brookfield, Chapel Hill, Enoggera, Indooroopilly, Karana Downs, Kenmore, Keperra, Mitchelton, St Lucia, Taringa, The Gap, Toowong, Upper Kedron and parts of Ashgrove, Auchenflower, Bardon, Paddington and Lake Manchester.

Area: Approx 441 sq km.

Perimeter: Approx  175.9 km.

Electors enrolled: 98 224 (at 21.8.10).

State electorates: Ryan includes parts of the Queensland Legislative Assembly electorates of Ashgrove, Everton, Ferny Grove, Indooroopilly, Ipswich West, Moggill and Mount Coot-tha.

Local Government Areas: Ryan includes the Brisbane City Council Wards of Walter Taylor, Pullenvale, Toowong, The Gap and Enoggera.

2010 Federal Election Result (2PP): LNP 57.2%, ALP 42.8%

Download PDF of Ryan electorate map [2.10MB] »

 AEC Map Ryan


636 Moggill Road
Chapel Hill Q 4069

Ph: 07 3378 1599
Fax: 07 3378 1399

Jane on Twitter

Ryan e-newsletter

Sign up below to receive my regular e-newsletter.

Authorised by J. Prentice, 636 Moggill Road (cnr Moggill & Witton Roads) Chapel Hill Qld 4069 | Login